top of page

National Occupational Classification (NOC) 2011

The National Occupational Classification (NOC) 2011 updates both the National Occupational Classification of Human Resources and Skills Development Canada and Statistics Canada's National Occupational Classification for Statistics (NOC-S) which was based on it. It is the nationally accepted taxonomy and organizational framework of occupations in the Canadian labour market.

NOC skill level criteria - education/training and other criteria

Skill level A

  • University degree (bachelor's, master's or doctorate)

Skill level B

  • Two to three years of post-secondary education at community college, institute of technology or CÉGEP or

  • Two to five years of apprenticeship training or

  • Three to four years of secondary school and more than two years of on-the-job training, occupation-specific training courses or specific work experience

  • Occupations with supervisory responsibilities are also assigned to skill level B.

  • Occupations with significant health and safety responsibilities (e.g., fire fighters, police officers and licensed practical nurses) are assigned to skill level B.

Skill level C

  • Completion of secondary school and some short-duration courses or training specific to the occupation or

  • Some secondary school education, with up to two years of on-the-job training, training courses or specific work experience

Skill level D

  • Short work demonstration or on-the-job training or

  • No formal educational requirements

Skill level is referenced in the code for all occupations with the exception of management occupations. For all non-management occupations the second digit of the numerical code corresponds to skill level.

Skill levels are identified as follows: level A - 0 or 1; level B - 2 or 3; level C - 4 or 5; and level D - 6 or 7.

The skill level category is... when the second digit is...

Skill Level A 0 or 1

Skill Level B 2 or 3

Skill Level C 4 or 5

Skill Level D 6 or 7

The ten broad occupational categories of the NOC are based on skill type

0. Management occupations

1. Business, finance and administration occupations

2. Natural and applied sciences and related occupations

3. Health occupations

4. Occupations in education, law and social, community and government services

5. Occupations in art, culture, recreation and sport

6. Sales and service occupations

7. Trades, transport and equipment operators and related occupations

8. Natural resources, agriculture and related production occupations

9. Occupations in manufacturing and utilities

Featured Posts
Recent Posts

For more info call/Whatsapp Kanwarjit Lall (Member of CICC) at 
+1-778-683-3008 or email at:

Search By Tags
    bottom of page